Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: SNMP v3 sha/aes  (Read 2723 times)

sjobergh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
SNMP v3 sha/aes
« on: March 16, 2021, 12:47:56 am »
I tried to use SNMP v3 sha/aes and everything seems to work except "uptime",   I dont get any "uptime"
and that results in that it looks like the device is down.

Nedi.conf
comm    myuser    sha     mypassword   aes     mypassword

IOS conf
snmp-server view ALL iso included
snmp-server group MyReadWriteGroup v3 priv read ALL write ALL
snmp-server user myuser MyReadWriteGroup v3 auth sha mypassword priv aes 128 mypassword

anyone have clue how fix the "uptime" ?

/swepart

sjobergh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: SNMP v3 sha/aes
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2021, 11:47:31 pm »
Just clarifying,   everything but the monitoring works,  after a few minutes my device turns red.

found a error message in Nedi :  "SNMP error An empty authProtocol was specified"

I really dont know what that means,  I have a auth pwd in Nedi.conf and in my device.

I searched on internet and found that this error message probably comes from perl

Below is some code that solved the problem in OCS software

name : snmpv3
version : 3
USERNAME : my-internal-snmpv3-username
AUTHKEY : my-very-secret-password-for-encryption
AUTHPASSWD : my-very-secret-password-for-authentication
Here is a working code for me, modified in /usr/share/perl5/vendor_perl/Ocsinventory/Agent/Modules/Snmp.pm (agent side) :

                    push @{$self->{communities}},{
                        VERSION=>$_->{VERSION},
                        NAME=>$_->{NAME},
                        USERNAME=>$_->{USERNAME},
                        AUTHPROTO=>"SHA",
                        AUTHPASSWD=>$_->{AUTHPASSWD},
                        PRIVPROTO=>"AES",
                        PRIVPASSWD=>$_->{AUTHKEY}
                    };

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2901
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: SNMP v3 sha/aes
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2021, 10:52:16 am »
You can test a target in Monitoring-Setup by clicking on the test icon (clock). Also you can run moni.pl -v in the CLI to test all with verbose output.

We can debug together, if you want...
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

sjobergh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: SNMP v3 sha/aes
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2021, 11:37:36 pm »
I have done some more tests and seems like it is a problem related to my Centos 7 platform.
I started an old 1.9 running on Ubuntu and on that one it worked.

I will install 2.x on the ubuntu and check if it is working on that


From now on I think I will use debian based platform instead.

Sorry for raising a problem related to OS