NeDi Community

NeDi Software Specific => Discovery => Topic started by: SchmuFoo on October 05, 2018, 01:22:52 PM

Title: Exclude Nodes from LAG Interfaces?
Post by: SchmuFoo on October 05, 2018, 01:22:52 PM
Hello Community,

how can I exclude LAG Interface from the Node Population Feature?

Unfortunately my Nodes are mapped to the Coreswitch LAG Interfaces, instead to the there connected Accessswitch and the corresponding Real Edge-Ports.

When I Re-Discover the Accessswitch I see the nodes there, but only until the next Cron/Manual Re-Discovery of the Core..

Thanks,
Jan
Title: Re: Exclude Nodes from LAG Interfaces?
Post by: rickli on October 09, 2018, 05:59:23 PM
Common problem, if neighbors are not detected on an interface. You can set linktype='NOP' on those LAG interfaces (e.g. with System-Database). In NeDi 1.9 it can be set comfortably with Devices-Interfaces...
Title: Re: Exclude Nodes from LAG Interfaces?
Post by: kami on October 26, 2018, 11:38:08 AM
How i can set the link type to "NOP"?
On my side this problem is that all Nodes on "coreswh2" on Port "Trk1". And not on the floor switches.


UPDATE: I fix it like this way:
Code: [Select]
update interfaces set linktype = "NOP" where device like "%coreh2%" and ifname like "%Trk1"Works fine now.
Title: Re: Exclude Nodes from LAG Interfaces?
Post by: SchmuFoo on November 07, 2018, 02:46:43 PM
Thanks, but it seems it doesnt work for me -> Nodes are still there -> See Screenshots from System-Database.php
Title: Re: Exclude Nodes from LAG Interfaces?
Post by: SchmuFoo on November 28, 2018, 03:05:46 PM
Thanks, but it seems it doesnt work for me -> Nodes are still there -> See Screenshots from System-Database.php

@kami and @all: Any idea what I else can do? (See Post before)

Thanks,
Jan
Title: Re: Exclude Nodes from LAG Interfaces?
Post by: rickli on December 02, 2018, 11:56:58 AM
Does the lastseen timestamp still get updated on those nodes? When you add debugging (-db), you should see lines like this:

DBG :$mc on $if vl$vl ignored due to NOP
Title: Re: Exclude Nodes from LAG Interfaces?
Post by: SchmuFoo on January 09, 2019, 02:08:10 PM
Does the lastseen timestamp still get updated on those nodes? When you add debugging (-db), you should see lines like this:

DBG :$mc on $if vl$vl ignored due to NOP

Oh you have right, I didn't realize that the timestamp was not updated any longer. In the meantime the wrong mapping is gone on my test-switch (I think after round about 30 days).

Is there a manuall way to "re-map" old entrys, without deleting the Nodes? I would like to keep the Node Details and History, but want to get rid of the old wrong mappings.
Title: Re: Exclude Nodes from LAG Interfaces?
Post by: rickli on January 11, 2019, 03:54:04 PM
I can only think of adjusting it manually in the DB. Retire will eventually age it out anyways...
Title: Re: Exclude Nodes from LAG Interfaces?
Post by: SchmuFoo on February 26, 2019, 11:19:59 AM
Common problem, if neighbors are not detected on an interface. You can set linktype='NOP' on those LAG interfaces (e.g. with System-Database). In NeDi 1.9 it can be set comfortably with Devices-Interfaces...

Can I also explicity INCLUDE Nodes WHEN an neighbor is deteced?

Reason: I have thousands of FTTO 5 Port Switches (From Nexans, Microsens and also Dafur/CBL) but I don't want to add them also in NeDi. I only want to have all their Upstream Switches in NeDi with the ability to use the Node-Tracking / Population feature also for Nodes connected directly to the FTTO Switches.
Title: Re: Exclude Nodes from LAG Interfaces?
Post by: rickli on February 28, 2019, 12:43:53 PM
Thanks for looking at this together...

For everybody else needing this. If you specify border from NeDi 1.9 onwards, it'll keep nodes on that interface...