Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: sticky nodes 1.0.6 RC1+RC2  (Read 3232 times)

--Pennywise--

  • Guest
sticky nodes 1.0.6 RC1+RC2
« on: April 28, 2011, 08:41:22 AM »
Hi.

I have some nodes that got sticky on ports. Those nodes moved from one room to another, some of them stayed on the same switch (different port) or they moved to another switch.
I've this with V1.0.6 RC1 and V1.0.6 RC2. Currently I'm getting a second instance of nedi running with 1.0.5.

This is what I get for one of the nodes:
Code: [Select]
netservice@nedi:/opt/nedi$ ./nedi.pl -v -a 172.16.1.101 | grep 0023ae0a1588
ARPS:0023ae0a1588=172.16.128.26 on Vl16 vl16
FWDC:0023ae0a1588 on Fa0/23 vl16
ARPW:0023ae0a1588 172.16.128.26 added
NODE:0023ae0a1588 kessler- M:5 old IF kept SW-VT1-3560-48POE-Fa0/46:5

Thanks for any hits/advice.

Best regards.
--Pennywise--

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2774
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: sticky nodes 1.0.6 RC1+RC2
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2011, 01:24:36 AM »
Do you mean the nodes physically moved, but NeDi keeps them on the old interface (as indicated in the output)?

If that's the case, is it connected through a VoIP phone now?
« Last Edit: April 30, 2011, 01:28:55 AM by rickli »
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

--Pennywise--

  • Guest
Re: sticky nodes 1.0.6 RC1+RC2
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2011, 09:21:40 PM »
Quote
Do you mean the nodes physically moved, but NeDi keeps them on the old interface (as indicated in the output)?

Yes, that's right.

Quote
If that's the case, is it connected through a VoIP phone now?

Yes, its conected to a cisco phone. I should have written this.
At the moment I don't use "nosnmpdev" with "^SEP". Should I?

Best Regards
--Pennywise--

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2774
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: sticky nodes 1.0.6 RC1+RC2
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2011, 07:09:02 PM »
No problem, but this will increase the IF metric (Hover over the calculator in IF Metric Statistics, Reports-Nodes for more details). IF will only be updated if this metric is lower or equal the current one (it's forced after "retire" days)...but I do see your problem, if a node moves behind a phone...I'll think about a fix  :)
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

--Pennywise--

  • Guest
Re: sticky nodes 1.0.6 RC1+RC2
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2011, 09:34:51 PM »
The node has a metric of 5 (5 non WLAN) on fa0/46 (old IF). On the current Interface it gets a metric of 15 (5 non WLAN + 10 No-SNMP-Dev)  :)
If I change the configuration to have the phones as nodes I suspect to get a metric of 35 (5 non WLAN + 10 No-SNMP-Dev + 20 Trunk) Is that right?  Or will it be 15?  ???

If I lower the retire threshold I expect to miss the notebooks of our field workers.

Best Regards
--Pennywise--

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2774
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: sticky nodes 1.0.6 RC1+RC2
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2011, 10:25:01 PM »
Some vendors use trunk for port-aggregation aka channel  :)
I gues changing the metric or adapting node calculation should help...just need to think about it some more....

Everyone: Suggestions welcome  :-[  ;)
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo