Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Discovery of nodes is incorrect  (Read 4160 times)

rfaes

  • Guest
Discovery of nodes is incorrect
« on: August 25, 2010, 08:12:30 AM »
Hello community

If I discover the network with nedi, it deliver wrong node information. The switch and the switchport of some nodes are wrong.
I have tried it with a windows installation with the newest activePerl version and with an updated ubuntu.
Is there a solution for this?

Thanks.

chrisb

  • Guest
Re: Discovery of nodes is incorrect
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2010, 09:46:22 AM »
Hi rfaes,

did you take a look at the mac-address-table of the switch? Is it a cisco-switch? You can print the table with "show mac address-table".

rfaes

  • Guest
Re: Discovery of nodes is incorrect
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 03:50:39 PM »
Hello chrisb

Yes i took a look at the mac-address-table, they looked correct.
In the company network are just cisco switches.

If i start the discovery in the verbose mode, i see nodes like this:
NOD:0017428fdf7d [ IP:xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx NEL5202RBO.domain.ch  250-> 2944G-1202-1-Gi0/47:60 Vl200 2944G-1018-1-Gi0/47:60 Vl200 2920G-6010-2-Gi0/23:60 Vl200 2724G-1258-1-Gi0/25:60 Vl200 2920G-1213-1-Gi0/23:60 Vl200 2920G-6U04-1-Gi0/23:60 Vl200 2724G-1258-2-Gi0/25:60 Vl200 2920G-1202-2-Gi0/23:60 Vl200 2944G-6106-1-Gi0/47:60 Vl200 2920G-5051-1-Gi0/23:60 Vl200 2920G-2U01A-5-Gi0/23:60 Vl200 3524P-2013-2-Gi0/25:60 Vl200 2920G-1262-2-Gi0/23:60 Vl200 2920G-2101-1-Gi0/23:60 Vl200 3524P-1008-1-Gi0/25:60 Vl200 3724G-1200-4-Po1:40 Vl200 3712g-1U00l-1-Po1:40 Vl200 6509R-1250-Po313:40 Vl1200 3712G-2U01a-1-Po1:40 Vl200 3724G-2U01a-3-Po1:40 Vl200 3724G-1250-4-Po1:40 Vl200 3724G-5U24-3-Po1:40 Vl200 3712G-1200-2-Po1:40 Vl200 3724E-2U01a-4-Po1:40 Vl200 3712G-1250-1-Po1:40 Vl200 3712G-6U04-1-Po1:40 Vl200 ] 3712G-6U04-1-Po1

I've tried all the getfwd options, but there were always wront nodes.

Thanks for your help.

chrisb

  • Guest
Re: Discovery of nodes is incorrect
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2010, 04:41:33 PM »
Hi,

what are the wrong inforation of the nodes?
Is it the wrong switch? Maybe a parent of the correct switch? Is it connected by port-channel?

rfaes

  • Guest
Re: Discovery of nodes is incorrect
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2010, 06:09:46 PM »
sorry, i forgot to write that.

The switch and port information are wrong. The nodes are connected without port-channel, they're connected to an gig interface.

First i thougt the phones are the problem. Because some nodes are behind a phone. But I think this isn't the problem. There are some nodes wrong which are directly connected to switches.

I configured Nedi not to discover the phones. They were not in the device nether in the node list.

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2786
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Discovery of nodes is incorrect
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2010, 07:56:11 PM »
Just answered a similar post. But I admit, there may be issues with nodes channels. Looking at the output the node ends up on a channel. This is not the right one?
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

rfaes

  • Guest
Re: Discovery of nodes is incorrect
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2010, 08:38:29 AM »
It is not the correct channel. The node isn't connected with a channel.
It is the wrong switch. The switch is not even close to the node.

rfaes

  • Guest
Re: Discovery of nodes is incorrect
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2010, 04:45:18 PM »
I fixed the problem.
I wrote a little script, which connects to every switch with ssh.
On the switch it read the mac address table.
And with this informationen the script corrects the wrong node information in the nedi Database.

The script is written in C#. After i cleaned up the source, i will share it.

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2786
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Discovery of nodes is incorrect
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2010, 07:35:24 PM »
Wow, quite a workaround! Hope the node mapping improvements in the next version will work for you, though. BTW, nedi does that as well on IOS switches...
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

JohnCLRC

  • Guest
Re: Discovery of nodes is incorrect
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2011, 08:31:04 PM »
I seem to be having the same type problem.  I am running NeDi 1.0.5 on a network with mainly HP Procurve switches.  I did not have this on NeDi 1.0.  I had to build a new machine since the old one died, so I thought I would go with the latest stable release.  I am running this on Ubuntu.  If I stop discovering certain switches I can resolve this problem for certain addresses, but this is not a long term solution.

Any suggestions are welcomed.


Thanks....

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2786
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Discovery of nodes is incorrect
« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2011, 06:05:42 PM »
The next beta should be quite usable for you. Also consider backing up the configs. I'm working hard to make it available very soon...
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo