Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Problem with detecting Duplex mode with some Ciscos  (Read 6424 times)

cmesser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Problem with detecting Duplex mode with some Ciscos
« on: February 16, 2010, 11:46:08 AM »
Hi,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this or if Discovery would fit better.

I just had an issue with inconsistent duplex settings between server and switch.
Hence I wonder if I can't use NeDi for detecting more of these beside looking for increasing errors on interfaces.
So I looked around a little bit and fond the following:
The OID used by NeDi for newer Ciscos for determine the duplex settings is:
1.3.6.1.4.1.9.5.1.4.1.1.10
It returns the setting of the interface (1=HD, 2=FD, 4=Auto or ? in NeDi) but not the actual value.
The OID from the standard dot3 MIB
1.3.6.1.2.1.10.7.2.1.19
returns the actual duplex value even if the port is in Auto mode.
But if I put this into the def file, the database row isn't populated.
Maybe it is because of the output of the snmpwalk
Code: [Select]
EtherLike-MIB::dot3StatsDuplexStatus.10001 = INTEGER: unknown(1)
EtherLike-MIB::dot3StatsDuplexStatus.10002 = INTEGER: fullDuplex(3)
EtherLike-MIB::dot3StatsDuplexStatus.10003 = INTEGER: fullDuplex(3)
EtherLike-MIB::dot3StatsDuplexStatus.10004 = INTEGER: unknown(1)
EtherLike-MIB::dot3StatsDuplexStatus.10005 = INTEGER: unknown(1)
EtherLike-MIB::dot3StatsDuplexStatus.10006 = INTEGER: fullDuplex(3)
EtherLike-MIB::dot3StatsDuplexStatus.10007 = INTEGER: fullDuplex(3)
EtherLike-MIB::dot3StatsDuplexStatus.10008 = INTEGER: fullDuplex(3)
EtherLike-MIB::dot3StatsDuplexStatus.10009 = INTEGER: unknown(1)
The value after "INTEGER:" doesn't look like real integer at all  ;)

Any ideas?

Christoph


oxo

  • Guest
Re: Problem with detecting Duplex mode with some Ciscos
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2010, 12:21:47 PM »
The value of "INTEGER" is what snmpwalk translates the integer value to be, based om mib information.
snmpwalk has an option in which the output is not translated, and then integers are shown

rufer

  • Guest
Re: Problem with detecting Duplex mode with some Ciscos
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2010, 12:26:47 PM »
On my Ciscos, the Duplex value is displayed correct in Nedi except for ports configured for autosense that are not connected. Those are marked as ? which seems logical to me, they are not full and not half duplex.
I use the DOT3 mib (OID posted above) and it's working correct for the following models: WS-C3560-48PS (and all other 3560 variants we have), Catalyst 6500-IOS (Sup720), WS-C3750

Greetings
Rufer
« Last Edit: February 16, 2010, 12:31:30 PM by rufer »

cmesser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with detecting Duplex mode with some Ciscos
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2010, 01:44:12 PM »
OK, was my own mistake. Changed the OID for IFdupl but not the one for IFduix  :(
It's working now.

Maybe all .def files for 3560 and 2960 should be modified like this in the next release?
« Last Edit: February 17, 2010, 02:32:25 PM by cmesser »

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2633
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Problem with detecting Duplex mode with some Ciscos
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2010, 03:19:03 PM »
Cisco seems to move towards standard mibs, which is a good development :)

The 'ix OIDs should only be populated, if they're not consistent with the ifidx. Otherwise unnecessary walks are performed, which will just slow down the discovery.

If someone can confirm which devs can use standard OIDs (and check, whether 'ix is really needed), I'll gladly update the .defs.
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

cmesser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with detecting Duplex mode with some Ciscos
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2010, 04:12:11 PM »
My .def looks like this now:

Code: [Select]
# Definition for 1.3.6.1.4.1.9.1.564 created by Defgen 1.5 on 28.Jan 10 16:43 (admmessechr)

# General
SNMPv   2HC
Type    WS-C3560-48PS
OS      IOS
Icon    w3bd
Bridge  VLX
Dispro  CDP
Serial  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.3.6.3.0
Bimage  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.2.1.73.0

# Vlan Specific
VLnams  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.46.1.3.1.1.4.1
VTPdom  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.46.1.2.1.1.2.1
VTPmod  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.46.1.2.1.1.3.1

# Interfaces
IFalia  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.2.2.1.1.28
IFalix  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.5.1.4.1.1.11
IFvlan  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.68.1.2.2.1.2
IFvlix
IFdupl  1.3.6.1.2.1.10.7.2.1.19
IFduix  1.3.6.1.2.1.10.7.2.1.1
Halfdp  2
Fulldp  3

# Modules
Modesc
Moclas
Movalu
Moslot  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.5.1.3.1.1.1
Modhw   1.3.6.1.4.1.9.5.1.3.1.1.18
Modsw   1.3.6.1.4.1.9.5.1.3.1.1.20
Modfw   1.3.6.1.4.1.9.5.1.3.1.1.19
Modser  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.5.1.3.1.1.26
Momodl  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.5.1.3.1.1.17

# RRD Graphing
CPUutl  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.109.1.1.1.1.5.1
Temp
MemCPU  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.48.1.1.1.6.1
Custom  MemIO   1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.48.1.1.1.6.2

What OID is the ifidx? Is it the ifalix? If yes, they are not consistent. Same values, but different ordering.

Regards
« Last Edit: February 22, 2010, 04:19:23 PM by cmesser »

rufer

  • Guest
Re: Problem with detecting Duplex mode with some Ciscos
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2010, 09:02:34 AM »
Here's my DEF

Notes:
- modules is a bit special because I want SFP in the inventory
- temperature doesn't work, but for other 3560 it does so I left it in

Greetings
Rufer


Code: [Select]
# Definition for 1.3.6.1.4.1.9.1.564

# General
SNMPv   2HC
Type    WS-C3560-48PS
OS      IOS
Icon    w3bd
Bridge  VLX
Dispro  CDP
#Serial 1.3.6.1.4.1.9.3.6.3.0
Serial  1.3.6.1.2.1.47.1.1.1.1.11.1001
Bimage  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.2.1.73.0

# Vlan Specific
VLnams  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.46.1.3.1.1.4.1
VTPdom  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.46.1.2.1.1.2.1
VTPmod  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.46.1.2.1.1.3.1

# Interfaces
IFalia
IFalix
IFvlan  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.68.1.2.2.1.2
IFvlix
IFdupl  1.3.6.1.2.1.10.7.2.1.19
IFduix
Halfdp  2
Fulldp  3

# Modules
Modesc  1.3.6.1.2.1.47.1.1.1.1.2
Moclas  1.3.6.1.2.1.47.1.1.1.1.16
Movalu  1
Moslot  1.3.6.1.2.1.47.1.1.1.1.7
Modhw   1.3.6.1.2.1.47.1.1.1.1.8
Modsw   1.3.6.1.2.1.47.1.1.1.1.9
Modfw   1.3.6.1.2.1.47.1.1.1.1.10
Modser  1.3.6.1.2.1.47.1.1.1.1.11
Momodl  1.3.6.1.2.1.47.1.1.1.1.2

# RRD Graphing
CPUutl  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.109.1.1.1.1.8.1
Temp    1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1.3.1005
MemCPU  1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.48.1.1.1.6.1
MemIO   1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.48.1.1.1.6.2

cmesser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with detecting Duplex mode with some Ciscos
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2010, 02:59:25 PM »
Looks good! (better than mine :)) I just noticed that IFalia works if left empty!
Why did you changed the Serial OID?

rufer

  • Guest
Re: Problem with detecting Duplex mode with some Ciscos
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2010, 11:54:22 AM »
In the Cisco MIBs, the old MIB is marked "deprecated" so I figured it was better to use the value in the EntityMIB.
But actually both work fine for the 3560.

Greetings
Rufer