Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Is there a guide or manual?  (Read 6511 times)

lschafroth

Is there a guide or manual?
« on: January 04, 2010, 05:40:19 PM »
I have the nedio45 iso installed and finally figured out how to get past the infinite install loop where it keeps asking for the packages and cdrom to install from. I finally said done and it asked if I was sure and I said yes even though it warned me about bsd.pm or something and it finally worked.

I edited nedi.conf and put in our snmp info and login on our cisco switches. We do not allow telnet, jut ssh to our switches.  I ran ./nedi.pl and it found our core switch and now it's just sitting there.  Is it doing anything?

Where is the manual showing every option in the gui?  I'm a newbie and need help.

I need to use nedi to document our cisco network and monitor/troubleshoot bandwidth and etc through the interfaces and between buildings.

Lannie

lschafroth

Re: Is there a guide or manual?
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2010, 05:53:47 PM »
I found the verbose command and I cancelled the first run of nedi.pl and ran it with the -p -v options and now I can see what it is doing.

Do I still need to add it to the cron to schedule it?  I want to be able to see bandwidth used. I know in cacti this is done every 5 minutes. Do I schedule that?

Lannie

lschafroth

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2010, 06:18:35 PM »
I have 46 devices.  Most of which are cisco wireless access points.
The cron examples still show the -c paramter which is no longer valid.

How would I setup a cronjob to monitor my bandwidth as often as possible without interrupting or degrading any performance on the switches?

I have a few cisco 3750 stacks of about 4 switches each that are all full, the rest or jut normal 48 port 3750's or 3500's.

I'm a unix newbie so help me design a cron/schedule for my setup.

Thanks!!

Lannie

PS I know I've posted all my WANTS so far, I do LOVE the product so far so keep up the awesome work.