Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Upgrade Nedi--Newbie Question  (Read 3876 times)

bigguy

Upgrade Nedi--Newbie Question
« on: September 29, 2009, 12:26:57 AM »
Hi, all:
I am pretty new to this.
We have Nedi version 1.00. Our system is Lynx. I'd like to upgrade to the newer version. my question is how does the upgrade work?
You just simply unzip the file(nedi-1.0.4.tgz) and put into NEDI directory? or you have to reconfigure certain files?
thanks!
Han
« Last Edit: September 30, 2009, 12:37:12 PM by bigguy »

gumba

Re: Upgrade Nedi--Newbie Question
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2009, 01:43:49 PM »
You've at least to modify your NeDi database, since its layout has changed with version 1.0.4. Have a look at the following threads:
http://forum.nedi.ch/index.php?topic=482.0
http://forum.nedi.ch/index.php?topic=478.0
and at the Installation and Database forums in general.

mduling

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2009, 08:03:48 PM »
So some people are saying an upgrade from 1.0 to 1.05 can be done, and others say not (http://forum.nedi.ch/index.php?topic=523.msg2200#msg2200) completely.  I'm wondering whether I can keep my old data too or whether I need to start from scratch.

gumba

« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2009, 03:36:15 PM »
I also would suggest a clean installation of NeDi 1.0.5, but you can keep your data by backing up your DB and reimporting the data aftrer having reinitialized. However, you have to pay attention to the changes made to the DB layout since 1.0. I've written some SQL script to convert at least the user and stock table to the new format before dumping them, so these data can be put to the new DB easily. If you need to kkep data other than that, have a look at what else has changed to adjust for your reimport. See the links I provided in the previous post.

rickli

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2009, 11:50:17 AM »