Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Cisco 6509 Catos a Interface fwd126 discovered  (Read 2247 times)

snetzwerk

  • Guest
Cisco 6509 Catos a Interface fwd126 discovered
« on: October 22, 2010, 11:36:18 AM »
Hello,
it's my second day with Nedi, really nice tool,
but I good a little Problem with one of my two Core Switches.
Nedi discoverd an Interface fwd126 on the second one.
I can not find this Interface with other snmp Tools
And it's not shown in the first lines of the discovery log too.
The Problem is that in the Node List many Devices are listed as connected to that Interface.

How can I exclude this Interface.



here a Log Part:

 FWS:00d0034da7fc on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:000629997666 on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:00000c07ac02 on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:000d609d371d on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:000c29b00a6d on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:00096b008fb9 on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:000c295e29f8 on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:00112529d195 on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:000f3412ec3f on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:00096bb5f500 on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:00096bff3c0a on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:000629f1516e on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:00096bff08c5 on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:00096bb5f408 on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:00096b0091b2 on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:00096b008fb8 on fwd126 Vl2
 FWS:000629f15342 on fwd126 Vl2

tristanbob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco 6509 Catos a Interface fwd126 discovered
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2010, 11:14:53 PM »
Is your 6509 really running CatOS still? 

We only have native IOS on our 6500s so I can't test if this happens on our network.

Tristan

Please visit "Other"->"Invoices" on your NeDi installation to make an annual contribution and support Nedi!

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2786
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Cisco 6509 Catos a Interface fwd126 discovered
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2010, 02:33:20 PM »
Those are fallback IFs, that are created when no existing port is found for that index. Do you have channels on that box?
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

snetzwerk

  • Guest
Re: Cisco 6509 Catos a Interface fwd126 discovered
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2010, 11:59:53 AM »
Yes I Got 2 Cisco 6509 and a Port Channel between them.
An a second Port Channel to a special Switch.

So what can I do to fix the issue?

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2786
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Cisco 6509 Catos a Interface fwd126 discovered
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2010, 07:32:02 PM »
Where do those macs show up on the switch itself (e.g. sh cam dyn)? CatOS is pretty nasty because it uses different IF names for channels on CLI and SNMP...

Easiest fix? Upgrade to IOS ;)
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo