Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Node mac address and connected interface  (Read 2217 times)

etiennef

• View Profile
Node mac address and connected interface
« on: June 11, 2019, 01:18:07 pm »
Good day everyone

This is my first post here, but I have been reading the forums a lot!

I am very new to NEDI but not new to network hardware and operation.

Firstly, I need to say that this is an incredible tool.
Following my first demo of what this can do, the client immediate indicated that they are willing to buy the tool for the benefit of having the newer version.

To this end I am trying to get the last bit to work correctly before my next demo.

The problem/shortfall is as follows:
I have a working NEDI installation that does network discovery perfectly.
The topology and neighbour devices on the network work extremely well.
We have NEC IP Phones.
It accurately populates the phone on the interfaces. When looking at the switch in the connection area the phone is displayed, and the correct MAC address is shown next to the device type
Example: NECS DT800, 0060b995ed04

The operational problem occurs when trying to find this phone from the nodes side by searching for the MAC address.
These mac addresses are shown on any of the switches, from the core to the device. It could be because the phone and PC are connected to one interface as the mac address specific to the interface is shown as the PC’s mac address
Example from one switch interface:
11   LLDP:NECS DT800       626    0018fe445bf5
11   NECS DT800, 0060b9a5fd59  100M   LLDP

My questions:
1.   Please assist with discovery command line options to run in more regular intervals. Suggestions welcome. I need to discover connected devices(nodes) more frequently up to interface to MAC level. Modules and switch/network neighbours not so often. The graphs and stats are not important. I have a licenses PRTG installation used for this monitoring and capacity planning.