Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Config backup for HPE Switches with latest firmware  (Read 503 times)

maltyx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Config backup for HPE Switches with latest firmware
« on: May 28, 2017, 11:11:40 AM »
Hello,
I am trying to setup my Nedi (v.1.5) environment to backup configurations of network switches. And I found out a strange problem, on all HPE switches with the latest available for that model firmware
I am getting the following error:
<code>
CLI2:Matched 'password:' sending password
CLI3:Password sent
CLI3:Matched 'any key' sending ctrl-Y
Use of uninitialized value $match in pattern match (m//) at /var/nedi/inc/libcli.pm line 795.
Use of uninitialized value $match in concatenation (.) or string at /var/nedi/inc/libcli.pm line 800.
CLI8:Matched '' enable failed
</code>

Nedi is logging to switch with user that does not need to enable, and get "Invalid input: enable" from switch OS. The same goes on all switches ("Invalid input: enable"), but on those that have firmware from previous versions, backup job runs successfully..

Affected switches:
HP J9624A 2620-24-PPoEP Switch, revision RA.16.03.0004, ROM RA.15.13
HP J9779A 2530-24-PoEP Switch, revision YB.16.03.0004, ROM YB.15.09

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2542
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Config backup for HPE Switches with latest firmware
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2017, 11:34:15 PM »
That's new to me. Watch the CLI tutorial on NeDi's youtube channel. A quicker way enable CLI debugging with -dc and check input- and output.log to see where it hangs...
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

maltyx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Config backup for HPE Switches with latest firmware
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2017, 06:30:17 PM »
Hello!
Thank You for your help!
I ran in debug mode, you can see attached input.log and output.log (password was changed by *****). Also added input.log from switch with older firmware where backup job works as expected. Switches uses the same username and passwords (Both HPE ProcurveOS)

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2542
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Config backup for HPE Switches with latest firmware
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2017, 03:53:44 PM »
Tx for the logs! Is it possible to remove the @ from the hostname? It may not be the OS after all...

While you're at it, change the location to something like "Country;City;Street;1;Room;Rack1;10" and behold in Topology-Table what it does :)
« Last Edit: June 04, 2017, 03:57:09 PM by rickli »
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

maltyx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Config backup for HPE Switches with latest firmware
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2017, 04:45:37 PM »
Wow! You was right! Without @ in the device name backup works fine.
About Location - I will try to change to full path for every device :)

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2542
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Config backup for HPE Switches with latest firmware
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2017, 01:32:01 PM »
Good! the '@' could be supported in the hostname, but I've never encountered it before...

Anyone let me know, if this is required in future versions.
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo