Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: VLANS?  (Read 533 times)

romain292

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
VLANS?
« on: February 16, 2017, 02:07:50 PM »
Hi everybody!
I have a question. When I go on the "devices-Vlan" page and when I click on "show", nothing appears :/
So how the vlans are considered? We have switchs (level2) with vlan on each but on Nedi, nothing.

I don't undertand why :/

Thank you in advance :)

Romain

dobst

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Re: VLANS?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2017, 10:27:20 AM »
Hello Romain,

maybe no vlans are available/detected on your devices. Check this by going to devices > list and select a device. There should be a section "Vlans".

Do a discover of your device with

Code: [Select]
./nedi.pl -a [switch] -v | grep -i vlan

romain292

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: VLANS?
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2017, 11:53:05 AM »
Thank you Dobst!

 I have '0' in the collumn of vlans :/ Or I have differents Vlans, not a 0...

Nothing change after your command :/
The answer of the command is "
Code: [Select]
WVLN:0 vlans written to nedi.vlans
« Last Edit: February 17, 2017, 01:50:04 PM by romain292 »

ascii

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: VLANS?
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2017, 02:09:13 PM »
what kind of switches do you have?
is there a .def file for the type?

romain292

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: VLANS?
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2017, 02:16:43 PM »
We have Extreme Network switchies, B5. ( layer2 and 3)
What do you mean? An "ExtremeNetwork.def"? If this is, no :/

In the /opt/nedi/sysobj, I have a many of files .def but it's numbers like
Code: [Select]
1.3.6.1.4.1.43.1.16.def etc...
« Last Edit: February 17, 2017, 02:43:05 PM by romain292 »

dobst

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Re: VLANS?
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2017, 03:46:18 PM »
Check your snmp definition via

Devices > List > select your network device > click on 'edit def file' icon (first icon on the right in the summary section)

Definition Generator is with the definition file of the network device opened

Check whether you've got the right oid in "Vlan Name" by clicking on the green man icon.

romain292

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: VLANS?
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2017, 03:55:26 PM »
Thank you for your reply!

When I do this, there is nothing and when I click on the green man, it display : No IP, version, community,OID?"

Furthermore, the SNMP version is'nt correct, we are in SNMP V3 and it display "V1" with "other" for the OS. :/
But devices are here with interfaces etc, so the SNMP is operational :/
« Last Edit: February 17, 2017, 04:05:10 PM by romain292 »

dobst

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Re: VLANS?
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2017, 08:30:53 AM »
Definition files are located in /opt/nedi/sysobj/. You need a definition file for each device. I suppose you don't have one for your device. Try to find out the sysobject id and define a file. Best is to clone/edit an existing file.

snmp access is defined in

/opt/nedi/nedi.conf:
Code: [Select]
#============================================================================
# Device Access
#============================================================================

# Set SNMP communities (preferred ones first).
# If authentication protocol is set, it will be treated as v3

#       name    aprot   apass           pprot   ppass
comm    public
;comm   private
;comm   paranod md5     ver3pa55        aes     ver3pa55
;comm   initial md5     ver3pa55        des     ver3pa55
;comm   initial md5     ver3pa55

After that rescan your device with

Code: [Select]
/opt/nedi/nedi.pl -a [device] -v
and have a look at the output.