Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: I've made A SNMP Location Generator (2.0.1) for use with NeDi  (Read 5469 times)

kevinava

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • - Network Systems Engineer
    • View Profile
    • SNMP Location Generator
I've made A SNMP Location Generator (2.0.1) for use with NeDi
« on: February 24, 2014, 01:41:44 PM »
Hi,
I've been using NeDi activly since 2009, and based on this wonderful experience
I have made a simple utility using Google Maps for creating consistent and informational SNMP Location string's
for use with SNMP enabled equipment and monitoring solutions like NeDi.

I hope the NeDi community find the utility useful, and come with suggestions for both new features and improvements ;D

SNMP Location Generator is located at http://snmplg.kvatn.net/

Cheers,
Kevin
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 03:43:52 PM by kevinava »
Best regards,

Kevin A. Vatn
- Network Systems Engineer
SNMP Location Generator - http://snmplg.kvatn.net/

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2532
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: I've made A SNMP Location Generator for use with NeDi
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2014, 05:14:09 PM »
Ha, that's pretty cool! I like it  8)
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

MrKarl 69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • NeDi newbie
    • View Profile
Re: I've made A SNMP Location Generator for use with NeDi
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2014, 01:05:03 PM »
Hi guys,

Very good tool  ;D But no use for me...

My switches doesn't allo special characters " ; " :
  • Dell Powerconnect 6248
  • HP Procurve 2910-48
How can i manage locations without ";" ?

Hannu Liljemark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Here to help
    • View Profile
Re: I've made A SNMP Location Generator for use with NeDi
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2014, 01:46:28 PM »
My switches doesn't allo special characters " ; " :
  • Dell Powerconnect 6248
  • HP Procurve 2910-48
How can i manage locations without ";" ?


Are you trying to set the location via web gui or CLI? And if via cli, did you try to use "" around the location string? At least here several Dell PowerConnect models allow ; in the location, as do Procurve models. I don't see a 6248 or 2910-48 anywhere handy right now so I can't test those specific models, though.

Br,
Hannu

pc_sg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: I've made A SNMP Location Generator for use with NeDi
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2014, 08:17:18 AM »
Near the end of nedi.conf there is this configuration lines
Code: [Select]
# SNMP locations need to be formatted like this now:
# Region;City;Building;Floor;Room;Row (A-Z);Rack#;Height (e.g. 40-41)
# This separator defaults to a space if commented
locsep ;


Seems easy to change the location separation character...  ;)

kevinava

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • - Network Systems Engineer
    • View Profile
    • SNMP Location Generator
Re: I've made A SNMP Location Generator for use with NeDi
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2014, 10:03:24 AM »
Hi Guys,
I'll make an update to SNMP LG so users can set their own location seperator like in NeDi.
I will make  a new post when its ready for use ;)
Best regards,

Kevin A. Vatn
- Network Systems Engineer
SNMP Location Generator - http://snmplg.kvatn.net/

kevinava

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • - Network Systems Engineer
    • View Profile
    • SNMP Location Generator
Re: I've made A SNMP Location Generator for use with NeDi (2.0.1)
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2014, 03:43:26 PM »
SNMP Location Generator updated to version 2.0.1

+ Added the possibility for setting a custom location seperator, like NeDi can.
+ Updated JavaScript libraries to the latest stable/legacy version.

Enjoy!
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 03:50:33 PM by kevinava »
Best regards,

Kevin A. Vatn
- Network Systems Engineer
SNMP Location Generator - http://snmplg.kvatn.net/

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2532
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: I've made A SNMP Location Generator (2.0.1) for use with NeDi
« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2014, 09:04:30 PM »
Fabulous! I've added a post: https://plus.google.com/106414135314831644755/posts/hNdDakRxGWc

Just noticed though, I don't support rack rows with the actual device placement in the racks...
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 09:07:57 PM by rickli »
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

kevinava

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • - Network Systems Engineer
    • View Profile
    • SNMP Location Generator
Re: I've made A SNMP Location Generator (2.0.1) for use with NeDi
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2014, 04:02:52 PM »
Thanks :D
I hope you'll add full rack row, column and placment support, I personally would love that  ;D

Best regards,

Kevin A. Vatn
- Network Systems Engineer
SNMP Location Generator - http://snmplg.kvatn.net/

Kasper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: I've made A SNMP Location Generator (2.0.1) for use with NeDi
« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2015, 07:19:40 AM »
Hi!

I know I am restarting an old topic. But I have used the SNMP location generator for setting the SNMP strings of my switches.
Unfortunately now when I try to access the page it is reporting that the account has been suspended.

Do anyone know if this page exists somewhere else or if it will be back soon?
I can always manage to make the string myself but this was a great and handy tool that made my work so much simpler.

kevinava

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • - Network Systems Engineer
    • View Profile
    • SNMP Location Generator
Re: I've made A SNMP Location Generator (2.0.1) for use with NeDi
« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2015, 09:32:03 AM »
Hi Kasper,
The site is back online again  ;D

Cheers!

Hi!

I know I am restarting an old topic. But I have used the SNMP location generator for setting the SNMP strings of my switches.
Unfortunately now when I try to access the page it is reporting that the account has been suspended.

Do anyone know if this page exists somewhere else or if it will be back soon?
I can always manage to make the string myself but this was a great and handy tool that made my work so much simpler.
Best regards,

Kevin A. Vatn
- Network Systems Engineer
SNMP Location Generator - http://snmplg.kvatn.net/

Kasper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: I've made A SNMP Location Generator (2.0.1) for use with NeDi
« Reply #11 on: November 02, 2015, 02:17:38 PM »
Thank you.

It is great to have the good tools accessible again.