Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: IP showing 0.0.0.0 even using a L3 devices  (Read 2928 times)

cyberdude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
IP showing 0.0.0.0 even using a L3 devices
« on: November 18, 2015, 11:10:47 PM »
Nedi seems to be working well but all the IP's show 0.0.0.0. I am querying a Cisco Nexus L3 switch. When I go into the defgen for that device and click on one of the green buttons for the ARP it pulls up the list of IP addresses in the arp table but it just is not populating them for the devices. Thanks

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2728
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: IP showing 0.0.0.0 even using a L3 devices
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2015, 02:05:39 PM »
What NeDi version? Also is an ARP method selected in Defgen? (next to that button)
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

cyberdude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: IP showing 0.0.0.0 even using a L3 devices
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2015, 07:05:56 PM »
I have nedi version 1.4 and IPv4/6 is selected next to ARP/ND section (attached). Thanks

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2728
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: IP showing 0.0.0.0 even using a L3 devices
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2015, 05:58:33 AM »
Which green button did you click to get results? The selection matches the 2nd button...
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

cyberdude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: IP showing 0.0.0.0 even using a L3 devices
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2015, 03:03:40 PM »
I clicked the 2nd green button and it displays ip addresses with MAC addresses.

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2728
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: IP showing 0.0.0.0 even using a L3 devices
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2015, 05:12:55 AM »
ok, when discovering with -v do you see any lines beginning with IP2P: ?
Also, can you print some lines of snmpwalking 1.3.6.1.2.1.4.35.1.4?
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

cyberdude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: IP showing 0.0.0.0 even using a L3 devices
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2015, 08:59:30 PM »
When I do the SNMPWALK i get the attached output. Sorry for the blue markings, I get paranoid when posting IP and MAC information so I tried to cover some of that info up. But it does return IP and MAC information. I am just not sure how to see the other part related to seeing that output IP2P.

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2728
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: IP showing 0.0.0.0 even using a L3 devices
« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2015, 07:52:45 AM »
No problem, I can see the walk looks fine...

With nedi.pl -v -a <ip> you should see something similar (this is using the "Old" OID thus IP2M is displayed):

Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

cyberdude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: IP showing 0.0.0.0 even using a L3 devices
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2015, 03:36:49 PM »
That seems to work as well. But what is weird i just checked it again and it appears to start populating the IP addresses but it wasnt before. I am not sure maybe when i manually ran the nedi.pl -v on our core switch it jump started it. I will monitor it and see if they keep populating the IP addresses. I will check back and let you know.