Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Netbios name or service.  (Read 3568 times)

harry

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Netbios name or service.
« on: December 06, 2013, 02:46:02 AM »
Hi Remo,
In Node-list I have never seen my netbios name for  nodes. What would be the settings to get those names populated in to the databse?


Regards,
Harry

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2542
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Netbios name or service.
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2013, 06:54:29 AM »
That's a (rather old) realtime function, which doesn't use the DB. These days a lot of the winows machines are locked down and won't respond anyway...

A new approach with using a DC to populate the node user field would be more appropriate. Haven't done much AD scripting though.
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

harry

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: Netbios name or service.
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2013, 10:58:44 PM »
HI Remo,
This tool  can give lot of information on netbios, even it can generate results in perl hashref format. Please have a look at this tool at http://www.unixwiz.net/tools/nbtscan.html

Let me know if you want any testing at my end.

Regards
Harry

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2542
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Netbios name or service.
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2013, 03:35:01 PM »
Looks like it's also using port 137 like NeDi does. This port is often firewalled and you'd need to ask the DC for information...
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

harry

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: Netbios name or service.
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2013, 03:33:24 AM »
Hi Remo
In my environment the nbtscan works fine accross the sites. Howocan I debug or where can I look up why Nedi is not geetting the netbios  inforatmion?

Regards,
Harry.


rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2542
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Netbios name or service.
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2013, 05:37:05 AM »
Have you tried Nodes-Status or filtering some windows nodes in Nodes-List and adding the netbios column?

If that doesn't work port 137 is most likely firewalled on those nodes...
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

harry

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: Netbios name or service.
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2013, 03:59:47 AM »
Thanks for the reply. I am getting different result from nbtscan on Ubuntu and  nbtscan-1.0.35.exe  on Windows.
I wish I can see my netbios name and user login deatil for a node in NEDI.

Re
Harry

nti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Netbios name or service.
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2015, 11:43:09 AM »
With a litte awk scripting you can put the nbtscan results to the arpwatch directory and nedi will use it

e.g.:
Code: [Select]
nbtscan -s " " 192.168.0.0/24  | gawk '{ $2~"^[a-zA-Z][-_.0-9a-zA-Z]*$"; gsub(/-/, ":", $NF); print $(NF)" "$1" "systime()" " tolower($2) }' > /usr/local/arpwatch/arp.lan.dat
nedi.conf:

arpwatch   /usr/local/arpwatch/arp.*.dat