Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Problems with discovery  (Read 2087 times)

radoslaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Problems with discovery
« on: September 23, 2013, 06:01:27 PM »
Hi,

I have a network with many network devices whose names start with an IP address. For example one of the switch's name is 172.16.1.1 and the other is 172.16.1.2

The problem is that nedi - 1.0.8 shows only one device namely "172". It looks like it omits the dot and treats the devices as the same. Is it bug? It worked on nedi 1.0.7

Thanks,
Radoslaw

radoslaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with discovery
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2013, 11:41:58 AM »
Any suggestions? I cannot add different devices. It treats different switches with names like 172.16.1.1 and 172.16.1.2 as one devices with name "172". It looks like a bug.

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2777
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Problems with discovery
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2013, 01:07:08 PM »
Nah, it works as designed ;)

You actually have 2 options:

-f Use discovered IPs as devicenames (useful, if they're not unique)
-F Use FQDNs for devices. Allows "." in dev names (can mess up links!)
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

radoslaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with discovery
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2013, 09:38:25 AM »
Thanks, it worked!

BTW I have this error when scanning a device:

172.16.99.2     172.16.99.2. Use of uninitialized value in string eq at /var/nedi/inc/libsnmp.pm line 284.

Is it safe to ignore it?

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2777
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Problems with discovery
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2013, 07:40:59 PM »
Yes, but check the .def for missing ifalias...
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo