Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Multi processor on NeDi (question from a newbie)  (Read 2345 times)

migas62

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Multi processor on NeDi (question from a newbie)
« on: August 05, 2013, 03:50:23 PM »
I used the ISO to create a NeDi VM with two processors.
The problem is that openBSD is only using one processor but finds two.

sysctl hw.ncpu
hw.ncpu=1
sysctl hw.ncpufound
hw.ncpufound=2

As far as i can see the file bsd.mp is missing in the instalation ISO (at least is what it seems to me).
How can i make the NeDi using two processors.
I want, if possible, to use the ISO to create the NeDi server.

Thank you
Miguel

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2691
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Multi processor on NeDi (question from a newbie)
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2013, 06:11:43 PM »
I didn't put it on the ISO to keep it smaller. It usually works well with only 1 core (e.g. as VM). However I can include it in the next version, as it grew above 100Mb anyways...
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

migas62

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Multi processor on NeDi (question from a newbie)
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2013, 01:02:34 PM »
I didn't put it on the ISO to keep it smaller. It usually works well with only 1 core (e.g. as VM). However I can include it in the next version, as it grew above 100Mb anyways...

I'm testing NeDi on a VM with a very big network: about 900 routers / 2000 switchs / 15000 VoIPs, and so on, so that's why i'm tring to use with more than 1 CPU.
when are you planning to launch the next version?

thank you Remo

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2691
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Multi processor on NeDi (question from a newbie)
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2013, 10:41:55 PM »
Ok, got it :) I'll try provide the 1st beta this month and start building NeDiO9 in September...

Out of curiosity, have you looked at the actual CPU usage during discovery or GUI interaction? I'm investigating memory usage right now and perl is kinda greedy when discovering large networks...
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

migas62

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Multi processor on NeDi (question from a newbie)
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2013, 11:17:05 AM »
Got it.  :D
I used the NeDi ISO to boot from the CD and when asked if i want to make the (I)nstall, (U)pgrade or shell i chose upgrade.

Ahead it asks the source (cd, ftp, http), chosed http and gave him an http address from the list of available servers.
Packages that i upgraded were:
  • bsd
  • bsd.rd
  • bsd.mp
  • base52.tgz

After a reboot it seems that everything is working as it should be.

By the way: as i have NeDi on a VM, first i've make a snapshot in case something goes wrong.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2013, 12:08:50 PM by migas62 »