Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Concurrent Discovery  (Read 14117 times)

oxo

Re: Concurrent Discovery
« Reply #15 on: February 07, 2009, 12:00:49 AM »
Here is my 10 cents ...

I have been using nedi since about 2003 cos I hate making GUI's: last year I went to ver 1.0
The delay in 0.8 -> 1.0 was I needed an infrastructure:
  • 3 companies with 2 servers per company (nedi, rancid, cacti, php-syslog)
    2 central data servers
    • MySQL with circular replication
      SVN for quick push of program alterations to the 6 servers (and other things)
I spent a bit of time with cacti to get automatic graph  (NeDi returned to the Cacti scene with auto cacti)

From the end of december, I began to gear up to (once again) try and see if NeDi could 5 min RRD
- there was a mock up of a solution for about 2 years ago while I was away, but it wasn't good enough (didn't use NeDi routines enough).

NeDi will soon be writting Device Table etc as soon as a device is done and not "all at once"
- this removes a lot of work for me.

I have now played about with pre-beta-release code, and now I am sure that:
- NeDi will be able (at some near future stage) to do RRD's within 5 min

Some bullets for what I think that a future version of nedi could contain:
  • No cronjob: starting a race every 5 min is bad->demonize and spread the workload of a known number of devices over 5 min
  • non-blocking snmp: helps a "state machine" type flow
  • threads: one for moni, one for rrd, one for discovery, one for ? started from nedi.pl using the same %dev but using the data as $devRef =$dev{na} giving  $devRef->{cm} type usage of the data and calls like &Identify($devRef);
  • continued use of def files: which can be expanded to include information about if the device type is sensitive to being polled to much ...

(Don't get me started on multi-NeDi machines ...)

Can NeDi's father do it?
- definitly but time, time, time.

Can we as the million monkeys help him?
- definitly...