Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: NeDi not picking up system uptime since updating to NeDio7.  (Read 5269 times)

jlsmith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
All of my switches are getting the same error, regardless up how long they have been active.
In the NeDi device displays I get "Timeout exceeded or no result!" in "Uptime" area on display of switches.

This is regardless of if they have been up 4 weeks or over 4 years.

I have always liked using the port up time, to see how long a port has been unused to see if it is available or is in use by a laptop that may not always be connected.


harry

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: NeDi not picking up system uptime since updating to NeDio7.
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2012, 08:54:19 AM »
is your Moni.pl running with -d option....?

jlsmith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: NeDi not picking up system uptime since updating to NeDio7.
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2012, 03:03:31 PM »
No it is not running -d, should it? This variable appears to be for debug, so I did not think I needed it, never used it in the past and all worked fine.

pc_sg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: NeDi not picking up system uptime since updating to NeDio7.
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2012, 03:10:00 PM »
Is it running with -D (capital) that means "run as Daemon" ?

Seems that "-d" is not supported.

jlsmith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: NeDi not picking up system uptime since updating to NeDio7.
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2012, 03:26:09 PM »
I do not run moni.pl, as I have other software doing the monitoring.

OK, I added -d, but when I run the startnedi.pl script it only does 1st switch.
If I run it manually via nedi.pl -porbd it runs but with following errors.
Use of uninitialized value in subroutine entry at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in subroutine entry at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in substr at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in subroutine entry at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in subroutine entry at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in substr at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in subroutine entry at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in subroutine entry at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in substr at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in subroutine entry at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in subroutine entry at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in substr at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in subroutine entry at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in subroutine entry at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.

After the 1st switch it then will run through the remainder of the list.

Running with nedi.pl -porbD I get following error
can't open ./sysobj.db: No such file or directory at ./inc/libmisc.pm line 1326

pc_sg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: NeDi not picking up system uptime since updating to NeDio7.
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2012, 03:32:10 PM »
I mean moni.pl , not nedi.
I'm not sure if moni is needed for solve your issue or not.
We can wait enlightenment from someone more expert...  ;)

jlsmith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: NeDi not picking up system uptime since updating to NeDio7.
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2012, 03:39:46 PM »
I think the addition of -d in the startnedi.sh script fixed the issue.

I still get the following errors periodically:
Use of uninitialized value in substr at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in subroutine entry at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.
Use of uninitialized value in subroutine entry at ./inc/libdb-msq.pm line 752.

But the up time is now getting populated for the devices and the ports.

Thanks for your help.


rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2532
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: NeDi not picking up system uptime since updating to NeDio7.
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2012, 12:24:26 AM »
moni.pl is indeed not needed for that, but startnedi.sh is not required on NeDiO either :)

The last IF change is polled in realtime from the deivce. Click on the lock (as admin) to enter the GUI's debug mode and verify the SNMP command. You can copy and paste it into a terminal the check the results...
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo