Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: nedi and Zabbix  (Read 7222 times)

misch

• View Profile
nedi and Zabbix
« on: March 13, 2012, 08:50:24 PM »
Hi,

Zabbix is quite a good network monitoing tool I thought about combining nedi and Zabbix. All devices that nedi discovered could be automatically configured in Zabbix to be monitored. Zabbix offers a JASON - API.

Is it possible to write some  scripts to use the strength of nedi to discover devices with the power of Zabbix to monitor it?

Since I am not an experienced programmer I would need some help starting the job.

Greetings,

Michael. 

harry

• View Profile
Re: nedi and Zabbix
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2012, 10:09:21 PM »
Hi,
Have you used NEDI to it's full capability..? check the monitoring options, configure it with your email address and see the result.
Nedi has good monitoring capability  and detailed reporting, with less resource it is quick compare to any other tool available in market.

Is there anyone who disagree to my observation?

misch

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2012, 06:58:09 AM »
Hi,

nedi is EXTREMLY cool for the discovery. But I would not use it as a monitoring system. Or how do you check the packets dropped by a firewall? Or the number of mails rejected on the MTA? There is no alerting process with escalations included. So as far as I can judge, you need both: nedi for discovery and a full blown monitoring system. Now it comes to the interfaces between both.

Michael.

jschlegel

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2012, 08:55:29 PM »
I agree with misch.  I use nedi for the discovery and inventory, config backup, etc.  But zabbix is far more granular as a monitoring tool.  I use zabbix to snmp monitor in realtime, (as opposed to the 1 hour nedi discovery).  Zabbix is what I use to generate alerts, escalations, outages, etc.