Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Possible typo in 3750 temperature OID?  (Read 7798 times)

tristanbob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Possible typo in 3750 temperature OID?
« on: February 08, 2012, 01:31:20 AM »
I was researching why my 3750s didn't show any temperature readings.  The default OID for 3750 temperature is:

1.3.6.1.4.1.9.1.516.def
1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1.3.1006 = Temperature

I have found that changing the last digit to a 5 will make temperature start working:

1.3.6.1.4.1.9.1.516.def.new
1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1.3.1005 = Temperature

Thanks!

Tristan
Please visit "Other"->"Invoices" on your NeDi installation to make an annual contribution and support Nedi!

ntmark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
    • tvnz.co.nz
Re: Possible typo in 3750 temperature OID?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2012, 03:25:46 AM »
oooh.
Cheers for that Tristan

Mark.

pc_sg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
    • View Profile
Re: Possible typo in 3750 temperature OID?
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2012, 01:36:49 PM »
Sorry, I've immediately checked on some of my 3750 (versione E, handled by the same def) and 1006 reads temperature correctly on FW Version 12.2(46)SE and 12.2(55)SE1.

With 1005 not.

Attached my current result.

Paolo

ntmark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
    • tvnz.co.nz
Re: Possible typo in 3750 temperature OID?
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2012, 08:37:27 PM »
hmmm...
This isn't the first time I've come across this problem.
Changes in IOS versions can be annoying at times.

I've just checked one of mine. I don't get any temp readings from either of those OIDs on a WS-C3750G-24TS, 12.2(37)SE1.
Old hardware/IOS oh well.

Others work fine with 1006

pc_sg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
    • View Profile
Re: Possible typo in 3750 temperature OID?
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2012, 10:56:56 AM »
I think that for us, the real problem is to "handle" different OIDs for the same (or similar) device, even if Cisco (or other) make MIBs available for each FW version.

As I've wrote in a previous post, the big trouble for any NMS is to choose the right OID, and for NeDi is to understand for any MIB how to translate it in a functionig OID. As far as Ive seen, even CiscoWorks (that we own), that shoud have ALL MIBs for ALL Cisco device, sometimes doesn't handle it correctly...
I haven't found any MIB browser that can "chomp" Cisco MIBs without syntax errors, so looking for the right OID for needed parameters is a real nightmare.

Paolo

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2691
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Possible typo in 3750 temperature OID?
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2012, 07:49:35 PM »
A general problem of the networking vendors...unfortunately! To be able to at least distinguish the different types pointing to the same sysobjid, I've added the typeoid in the .def...

Inconcistentcies like these might be fixed in a future firmware, so lets keep our fingers crossed!
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo

tristanbob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Re: Possible typo in 3750 temperature OID?
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2012, 06:54:03 PM »
Just for comparison, most of my 3750s are the original 3750G (not 3750E or 3750X) and I am running a recent firmware (12.2(58)SE1).  These devices use "1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1.3.1005" for temperature.

I have one 3750X device (also running 12.2(58)SE1) and it turns out that this newer device uses the higher value "1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1.3.1006".   Paolo confirmed that his 3750E devices also use this value.

So how can we use the TypeOID to specify these two values, "1005" for the older 3750s and "1006" for the 3750E and 3750X?
Please visit "Other"->"Invoices" on your NeDi installation to make an annual contribution and support Nedi!

rickli

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2691
    • View Profile
    • NeDi
Re: Possible typo in 3750 temperature OID?
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2012, 10:07:33 PM »
I'm afraid typeoid only works for the actual type string, if the same sysobjid is used for different models. Look at the Cisco 1230 APs...
Please consider Other-Invoices on your NeDi installation for an annual contribution, tx!
-Remo