NeDi Community

NeDi Software Specific => Discovery => Topic started by: ldkikm on April 02, 2009, 06:04:44 PM

Title: How does it works Graph / Graph with Cacti
Post by: ldkikm on April 02, 2009, 06:04:44 PM
Hi.

Thanks for the great Application Nedi. I install it on Debian 4.0 and it works fine with Cisco 3560, 3750, 6509 Components (SNMP). The only Problem are the graphs. At Nedi dosen't work. On the same Machine i installed Cacti and the graphs in Cacti OK.

My nedi.conf (Graph section):

Code: [Select]
# Points to executable (leave empty to disable graphs)
rrdcmd          /usr/bin/rrdtool

# Location of the actual RRDs
rrdpath         /var/nedi/rrd

# This value needs to be set to the discovery interval in seconds. Make sure it
# corresponds to the NeDi's crontab entry (e.g. hourly "1 * * * *" => 3600).
rrdstep         3600

# Prefix to call Cacti's CLI tools for adding graphs in Devices-Graph
#cacticli       /usr/bin/php /var/www/html/cacti/cli
cacticli        /usr/bin/php /var/lib/cacti/rra

# Cacti integration. Uncomment, if you want Devices-Status to link to Cacti.
# You'll need to have the NeDi device names as host (or description) in cacti,
# with that a link can be established.
cactihost       localhost
cactidb         cacti
cactiuser       cacti
cactipass       password
cactiurl        /cacti

Are there any further information regarding graph (rrdtool and the Cacti integration)? Beautiful would be an German Tutorial ;)

Thanks.

Best regards

ldkikm
Title: Re: How does it works Graph / Graph with Cacti
Post by: bshellrude on April 02, 2009, 07:35:36 PM
you have to specify the path to the cacticli.... for example:
# Prefix to call Cacti's CLI tools for adding graphs in Devices-Graph
cacticli        /usr/local/groundwork/php/bin/php /usr/local/groundwork/apache2/htdocs/cacti/cli


whereas above, you're calling the "rra" dir
Title: Re: How does it works Graph / Graph with Cacti
Post by: ldkikm on April 02, 2009, 09:09:40 PM
Hi,

I'm confused. Can you tell me, what is in the cli Folder? On my System I no cli Folder found.

Thanks.
Title: Re: How does it works Graph / Graph with Cacti
Post by: ldkikm on April 03, 2009, 10:09:54 AM
I found the Problem. I uninstall the Debian Package and install the Version from Cacti HP. Now i test it.

regards ldkikm
Title: Re: How does it works Graph / Graph with Cacti
Post by: ldkikm on April 03, 2009, 05:10:06 PM
Ok, the Cacti integration works now. Is there also a possibility, the Cahrts again to remove?

Another Problem are the Nedi Charts. There no Lines on the Graph. I make a Screenshot.

regards

ldkikm
Title: Re: How does it works Graph / Graph with Cacti
Post by: rickli on April 04, 2009, 03:08:10 PM
Doesn't look like regular discovies. Are you using crontab?
Title: Re: How does it works Graph / Graph with Cacti
Post by: ldkikm on April 05, 2009, 09:22:22 PM
Yes I use crontab:

Code: [Select]
15 0,4,8,12,16,20 * * * /opt/nedi/startnedi.sh
/opt/nedi/startnedi.sh:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
#start nedi from crontab. Creates logfiles
opts="-cob"
CMD="./nedi.pl $opts"
LOGPATH="/var/log/nedi"
LOGFILE="$LOGPATH/nedi.log"
LASTRUN="$LOGPATH/lastrun.log"
cd /opt/nedi
now=`date +%Y%m%d:%H%M`
echo "#$now start # $CMD" > $LASTRUN
echo "#$now start" >> $LOGFILE
$($CMD >> $LASTRUN)
tail -8 $LASTRUN >> $LOGFILE
now=`date +%Y%m%d:%H%M`
echo "#$now stop" >> $LOGFILE
echo "#$now stop" >> $LASTRUN

Is this wrong?
Title: Re: How does it works Graph / Graph with Cacti
Post by: rickli on April 06, 2009, 10:53:03 PM
You need to set rrdstep to 14400 to reflect the 4h in your crontab. Delete the RRDs an let NeDi recreate them after editing nedi.conf
Title: Re: How does it works Graph / Graph with Cacti
Post by: ldkikm on April 08, 2009, 02:42:37 PM
You need to set rrdstep to 14400 to reflect the 4h in your crontab. Delete the RRDs an let NeDi recreate them after editing nedi.conf
Thanks, now works. :)

regards ldkikm