NeDi Community

NeDi Software Specific => Discovery => Topic started by: Kevin on February 04, 2009, 05:50:05 PM

Title: What does "Arp" field mean in the "nodes" table?
Post by: Kevin on February 04, 2009, 05:50:05 PM
It's early and I haven't yet had my second cup of coffeee.

I'm working on exporting the "nodes" table to a spreadsheet (actually, just the hosts), and I notice the last field in the table is "arp" of type "smallint(5) unsigned".   In my database, this field is populated with values of between 0 and 8, with most rows having a value of 2.

What exactly does "arp" signify in this table?


The goal is to provide management with a snapshot of all devices on the network except for routers, switches and IP phones, including their switch, port, MAC, primary IP and hostname (when known).   Most of the machines don't have reverse DNS entries, so I have an /etc/hosts file to fill in the hostnames.
Title: Re: What does "Arp" field mean in the "nodes" table?
Post by: gumba on February 05, 2009, 11:29:02 AM
Not really answering your question, but I already have a script running creating Excel spreadsheets from the nodes table if your interested.
Title: Re: What does "Arp" field mean in the "nodes" table?
Post by: rickli on February 05, 2009, 06:43:22 PM
It's # of ARP entries for that MAC address found in an attempt to discover ARP spoofing attempts. It's not very accurate in 1.0, but will be better in the next release...
Title: Re: What does "Arp" field mean in the "nodes" table?
Post by: Kevin on February 06, 2009, 06:47:24 PM
Not really answering your question, but I already have a script running creating Excel spreadsheets from the nodes table if your interested.

Yes, I am interested; that would save me a couple of steps.
Title: Re: What does "Arp" field mean in the "nodes" table?
Post by: MagnAxiom on February 10, 2009, 03:21:40 PM
ARP stands for Address Resolution Protocol, it's how the network matches IP addresses to MAC addresses it doesn't know yet.
Title: Re: What does "Arp" field mean in the "nodes" table?
Post by: gumba on February 17, 2009, 08:40:15 AM
Yes, I am interested; that would save me a couple of steps.

Look at topic http://forum.nedi.ch/index.php?topic=295, all the code and the required steps to integrate it are posted there. If you have questions feel free to ask.