NeDi Community

NeDi Software Specific => Discovery => Topic started by: lostsoul77 on February 14, 2014, 08:03:06 PM

Title: LLDP and network discovery
Post by: lostsoul77 on February 14, 2014, 08:03:06 PM
Does v1.0.9 do LLDP discovery by default as I see nowhere in the config file to set it up (our voip system is all Avaya and I would like to be able to discover the phones being that we have LLDP enabled; we also have snmp strings setup on the phones). Also can you do subnet ranges or do I have to put in individual subnets to be discovered
Title: Re: LLDP and network discovery
Post by: Hannu Liljemark on February 14, 2014, 08:52:13 PM
bash-3.2$ ./nedi.pl --help
./nedi.pl version 1.0.9-010 calling Getopt::Std::getopts (version 1.05 [paranoid]),
running under Perl version 5.8.8.

usage: nedi.pl [-i|-D|-t|-w|-y|-s|] <more option(s)>
Discovery Options  --------------------------------------------------------
-a ip   Add single device or ip range (e.g. 10.10.10)
...
-p      Discover LLDP,CDP,FDP or NDP neighbours
-o      OUI discovery (based on ARP chache entries)
-r      Route table discovery (on L3 devices)

Have you tried running nedi.pl with those parameters, or enter something in the seedfile and run nedi.pl with few of the discovery parameters?

If the switch sees the phones via lldp, NeDi should pick up the lldp neighbours as well. Discovery protocol is configured in the device definitions, def files, that Nedi uses as instructions when it's collecting data from the network device.

Br,
Hannu
Title: Re: LLDP and network discovery
Post by: lostsoul77 on February 14, 2014, 09:29:32 PM
currently i'm running a discovery using -por (been running for a few hours now as we have a huge network). I looked at a few of the switches that it discovered in the GUI which have IP phones connected but do not see the phones as LLDP neighbors and don't see the phones discovered via SNMP...I will let the discovery run and finish which will be sometime tomorrow and then check again.
Title: Re: LLDP and network discovery
Post by: lostsoul77 on February 17, 2014, 05:39:02 PM
so would this be the correct syntax to do discovery? This seems different from previous versions. Below is how mine is defined (it's all on 1 line):

# Only discover devices where ip address matches this regular expression.
# This way NeDi will not send any login credentials to rogue/evil devices.
netfilter       ^10\.228\.0|^10\.255|^10\.255\.254|^10\.231|^10\.232|^10\.235|^10\.237|^10\.239|^10\.240|^10\.241|^10\.242|^10\.243|^10\.244|^10\.245|^10\.246|^10\.247|^10\.248|^
10\.249|^10\.250|^10\.251|^10\.252|^10\.253|^10\.254

# To avoid networks
;netfilter      ^(?!192.168.1).*$
netfilter       .
Title: Re: LLDP and network discovery
Post by: rickli on February 17, 2014, 06:00:39 PM
Unless you're after OUI (needs proper strings for ouidev in nedi.conf) and routes discovery, you'll only need -p. If the .defs of your access switches have LLDP or CDP|LLDP for Dispro   in nedi.conf, the Avaya phones should be picked up as such...

Another customer told me about SNMP support on those, which could be used to get more details. I haven't really looked at that option yet, but it's on my todo-list.
Title: Re: LLDP and network discovery
Post by: lostsoul77 on February 17, 2014, 07:50:57 PM
I think my previous question is misunderstood...

What I posted was what I defined under the discovery section of nedi.conf.

Is that the correct way to define multiple subnets in nedi.conf?
Title: Re: LLDP and network discovery
Post by: Hannu Liljemark on February 20, 2014, 10:57:03 AM
That looks like a good netfilter. Personally I've just kept it simple "netfilter 192.168.0|172.16" style. What kind of seed did you give NeDi to start the discovery? In Nedi's monitoring events you can filter discovery events and see what is going wrong.

What vendor/model (sysobj) switches do you have the phones connected to? I guess the switch shows the phone as neighbor if you show lldp neighbors using the switch CLI?

What if you just discovery one switch and examine the NeDi log to see what Nedi did and didn't do, and go from there?

Br,
Hannu
Title: Re: LLDP and network discovery
Post by: lostsoul77 on February 20, 2014, 04:14:04 PM
- phones are connected to Cisco 4503/4506 switches

- phone are Avaya 9608's

- I didn't see anywhere in the configuration file to NeDi a seed like in previous versions
If I issue a 'show lldp nei' from the CLI, the phones definetly show up. I thought they would show in NeDi under any switch interface which had a phone on it but it doesn't. We have plans to enable snmp on all of the phones to make it simpler. I am having trouble with figuring out how to create a definition file for the Avaya snmp mibs. I tried using DefGen but can't add custom fields to define the OID string that I need to discover and provide the correct values for the Ethernet interfaces of the phone.

Also I apologize for posting a discovery question into the wrong section of the forum; can a moderator move this to the discovery section?

Thanks.


That looks like a good netfilter. Personally I've just kept it simple "netfilter 192.168.0|172.16" style. What kind of seed did you give NeDi to start the discovery? In Nedi's monitoring events you can filter discovery events and see what is going wrong.

What vendor/model (sysobj) switches do you have the phones connected to? I guess the switch shows the phone as neighbor if you show lldp neighbors using the switch CLI?

What if you just discovery one switch and examine the NeDi log to see what Nedi did and didn't do, and go from there?

Br,
Hannu
Title: Re: LLDP and network discovery
Post by: lostsoul77 on February 20, 2014, 08:11:35 PM
found the seedlist file and added all of my subnets that way...i'll have to modify my cronjob to re-discover using the seedlist file versus using the default gw of the server....thanks.
Title: Re: LLDP and network discovery
Post by: rickli on February 20, 2014, 10:34:27 PM
Moved to discovery...

You cannot just add subnets to the seedlist. You should add seed IP addresses. If your network uses CDP end to end, you'd only need 1 entry there or none, to fall back to the default gw (which sounds like you had before).

In order to find the phones, you should modify the .defs of those 4503/4506 switches like this:

Dispro   CDP|LLDP

A netfilter with just a . should be fine (allowing to discover every possible subnet). You can limit the discovery with border <name>, if you need to.

FYI:
1. I'm looking at making netfilter easier and yet more powerful
2. I'm looking at making CDP and LLDP support configurable, with that you don't have to bother changing .defs

Hope this helps :-)